photos, Visual Journal

Yawkey Way, Opening Day

[4/13/15] Every Monday, from 12-3p, I’d pray that my Photojournalism professor wouldn’t call for a Spot News assignment. I’d walk down into the basement of the Communication building, and clench my fingers in a please. The dreaded Spot News assignment had been looming over my head for the past semester, where most days were too frigid to hold my exposed finger on the shutter release.

Our 3-hour seminar was more like PJ bootcamp; it was both physically and mentally demanding, and disciplined us into the standard grade of the industry. The course is taught by a strict photojournalism professional, who, with heavy words, taught me how to sharpen my eye and the craft. The Spot News was his special project and my worst fear. The directions were to capture a front-page newsworthy image, write a detailed caption, and edit it, all under an hour. So when I walked into class on the second to last day of the semester, I had to wait in anticipation until the last hour when he told us to get out there and find the story. Our destination was opening day at Fenway, just a couple blocks down the street from campus.

I walked around Fenway park for thirty minutes, snapping everything around me in a rushed panic. These are the results:

that moment when I missed Tom Brady walking into the clubhouse....

that moment when I missed Tom Brady walking into the clubhouse….

I almost turned this picture in, but I failed to grab the subject's name.

I almost turned this picture in, but I failed to grab the subject’s name.

Landsdowne St.

Landsdowne St.

Couple indulging a pre-game hot dog. This picture almost won my assignment but it lacked an opening day detail.

Couple indulging a pre-game hot dog. This picture almost won my assignment but it lacked an opening day detail.

Programs for sale! This would've been a good picture for a profile, but it lacked any news relevancy.

Programs for sale! This would’ve been a good picture for a profile, but it lacked any news relevancy.

Masked keyboardist banging the tunes in Fenway Park. It was impossible to ask him any questions or grab his info and also you could see my reflection in the mirror. So I didn't turn this one in either.

Masked keyboardist banging the tunes in Fenway Park. It was impossible to ask him any questions or grab his info and also you could see my reflection in the mirror. So I didn’t turn this one in either.

This busker allowed me to take his picture in exchange for me to run and grab him a bottle of water. He gave me $2 and I walked into the McDonald's down the street, where I found the picture I liked the most.

This busker allowed me to take his picture in exchange for me to run and grab him a bottle of water. He gave me $2 and I walked into the McDonald’s down the street, where I found the picture I liked the most. I decided not to turn this photo in, because of my ethical responsibility.

Huzzah! I walk into McDonald's to buy the busker a bottle of water, and these smiling folks are celebrating Opening Day. McDonald's doesn't dress up like this for every Red Sox game, and the employees are jovial and even the manager pokes his head to join in the excitement of Opening Day. This is what felt like the most detailed, when even in the work place everyone's spirits are lifted.

Huzzah! I walk into McDonald’s to buy the busker a bottle of water, and these smiling folks are celebrating Opening Day. McDonald’s doesn’t dress up like this for every Red Sox game, and the employees are jovial and even the manager pokes his head to join in the excitement of Opening Day. This is what felt like the most detailed, when even in the work place everyone’s spirits are lifted.

I turned in the last photo, and got my ass kicked with a bad grade. It was a learning experience that only months after I could look back on and cherish with a fondness.

– TB

Standard

Leave a Reply

